Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39
Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39
Pavel Dombrovsky,

Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39

Listen on


The Études-tableaux (“study pictures”) are two sets, opus numbers 33 and 39, of piano études composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff. The Op. 39 études-tableaux was written between 1916 and 1917 and published in 1917.

Sergei Rachmaninoff did not disclose what inspired each piece, stating, “I don’t believe in the artist that discloses too much of his images. Let them paint for themselves what it most suggests.”

The Op. 39 set is considered much more demanding technically than the Op. 33 and has been called extremely virtuosic in its approach to keyboard writing, calling for unconventional hand positions, wide leaps for the fingers and considerable technical strength from the performer. Also, “the individual mood and passionate character of each piece” pose musical problems that preclude performance from those not possessing a tremendous physical technique.

Track List

Sergei Rachmaninoff:

  1. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 1 in C Minor
  2. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 2 in A Minor
  3. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor
  4. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 4 in B Minor
  5. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 5 in E-Flat Minor
  6. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 6 in A Minor
  7. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 7 in C Minor
  8. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 8 in D Minor
  9. Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 9 in D Major

℗ & © 2018 Oclassica SIA.

Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39
Start listening on
Online Course

Think Digital!

This online course reimagines the opportunities for classical musicians in the digital age of technology, offering multidisciplinary skills and knowledge to win the love of audiences and succeed as musicians.

Find out more



All composers Arvo Pärt Pavel Karmanov Nikolai Medtner Luigi Boccherini Vincenzo Bellini Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Alexander Lokshin Francesco Landini Ivan Naborshchikov Ilya Vyazov Luciano Berio Béla Bartók Mily Balakirev Sergei Prokofiev Ludwig van Beethoven Polina Nazaykinskaya Philip Glass Pablo de Sarasate Naborshchikov Myroslav Skoryk Mykola Leontovych Modest Mussorgsky Mikhail Glinka Mieczysław Weinberg Michel Legrand Mendelssohn Maurice Ravel Matthew Hackett Manuel de Falla Anatoly Lyadov Donato Lovreglio Juan Sánchez Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Carl Maria von Weber Tamas Szigyarto Jean Sibelius Dmitri Shostakovich Sergey Taneyev Sergey Bryukhno Sergei Rachmaninoff Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Alexander Rozenblatt Gioachino Rossini Joaquín Rodrigo Robert Schumann Rimsky-Korsakov Remo Giazotto Jean-Philippe Rameau Christina Grigoryants Frédéric Chopin Franz Schubert Franz Liszt César Franck Ferruccio Busoni Erik Satie Edvard Grieg Denis Shapovalov Dave Brubeck Claude Debussy Christoph Willibald Gluck Fritz Kreisler Charles Gounod Carl Orff Camille Saint-Saëns Brian Field Astor Piazzolla Antonio Vivaldi Antônio Carlos Jobim Andrew Lloyd Webber Alexander Siloti Alexander Scriabin Alex Moiseev Jacob Gade Louis Spohr György Ligeti Leonardo Le San György Kurtág Konstantin Soukhovetski Friedrich Kalkbrenner Jules Massenet Johannes Brahms Johann Sebastian Bach Karl Jenkins James M. David Adam Repa Husayn Ruhe aka the Puge Henry Mancini Joseph Haydn Hasselmans George Frideric Handel Gustav Mahler Enrique Granados Alexander Glazunov George Shearing George Gershwin Gabriel Fauré