Satie: Gymnopédie No. 1
Satie: Gymnopédie No. 1
Various Artists

Satie: Gymnopédie No. 1

Listen on

Erik Satie published his Gymnopedie No. 1 in 1888, and although this famous series of three piano compositions “Trois Gymnopédies” was completed on April 2, 1888, the third movement was not presented to the public until 1895. The unusual title of the work derives from the French form gymnopaedia, an ancient Greek word for an annual festival at which young people danced naked or perhaps simply unarmed. These images in the works of French symbolist painter Pierre Puvis de Chavannes may have been a source of inspiration for Satie.

Satie’s music was unusual for his time. His harmony is often characterized by unresolved chords, he sometimes dispensed with bar lines, and his melodies are generally simple, often reflecting his love of early church music.

Satie invented what he called “musique d’ameublement” – a kind of background music that should not be listened to consciously. The Gymnopédies are considered an important precursor of modern ambient music.


Erik Satie:

  1. Gymnopédie No. 1

℗ & © 2022 Oclassica OÜ.

Online Course

Think Digital!

This online course reimagines the opportunities for classical musicians in the digital age of technology, offering multidisciplinary skills and knowledge to win the love of audiences and succeed as musicians.

Find out more



All composers Arvo Pärt Pavel Karmanov Nikolai Medtner Luigi Boccherini Vincenzo Bellini Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Alexander Lokshin Francesco Landini Ivan Naborshchikov Ilya Vyazov Luciano Berio Béla Bartók Mily Balakirev Sergei Prokofiev Ludwig van Beethoven Polina Nazaykinskaya Philip Glass Pablo de Sarasate Naborshchikov Myroslav Skoryk Mykola Leontovych Modest Mussorgsky Mikhail Glinka Mieczysław Weinberg Michel Legrand Mendelssohn Maurice Ravel Matthew Hackett Manuel de Falla Anatoly Lyadov Donato Lovreglio Juan Sánchez Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Carl Maria von Weber Tamas Szigyarto Jean Sibelius Dmitri Shostakovich Sergey Taneyev Sergey Bryukhno Sergei Rachmaninoff Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Alexander Rozenblatt Gioachino Rossini Joaquín Rodrigo Robert Schumann Rimsky-Korsakov Remo Giazotto Jean-Philippe Rameau Christina Grigoryants Frédéric Chopin Franz Schubert Franz Liszt César Franck Ferruccio Busoni Erik Satie Edvard Grieg Denis Shapovalov Dave Brubeck Claude Debussy Christoph Willibald Gluck Fritz Kreisler Charles Gounod Carl Orff Camille Saint-Saëns Brian Field Astor Piazzolla Antonio Vivaldi Antônio Carlos Jobim Andrew Lloyd Webber Alexander Siloti Alexander Scriabin Alex Moiseev Jacob Gade Louis Spohr György Ligeti Leonardo Le San György Kurtág Konstantin Soukhovetski Friedrich Kalkbrenner Jules Massenet Johannes Brahms Johann Sebastian Bach Karl Jenkins James M. David Adam Repa Husayn Ruhe aka the Puge Henry Mancini Joseph Haydn Hasselmans George Frideric Handel Gustav Mahler Enrique Granados Alexander Glazunov George Shearing George Gershwin Gabriel Fauré